Hidden miles

Heavy bike

Heavy bike – but nice

If you’ve read any of these posts you’ll know that I have a new bike and that I commute. The commuting miles are the hidden miles, they go unrecorded, unnoticed.

Last night I watched Chasing Legends so had to ride this morning. I couldn’t not ride after watching those Heroes. Despite having new road shoes I preferred to use my tourer.  I did my short Titch Hill/Coombes loop on a 27lb bike despite the images of TdF bikes in my head. This time I had panniers, lights, lock, water and Christmas cake: a staggering 41.06lbs all up. Now I know how downhillers feel although the weight didn’t bother me and I still managed the whole ride in the 50 tooth big ring all thanks to a 28 rear sprocket.

This was a descent ride and so I have decided to fit a computer. Now, those hidden commuter miles will get noted, after all it is the bike that I ride the most. Just imagine how great my Cento Uno (16lbs) will feel when I take it out to test my Northwave Typhoon Evo shoes.

Chasing Legends

Chasing Legends

.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Commuting, New kit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

