Use it or lose it

Yesterday I wanted a flat out blast but the mud got in the way. Whilst out I did my favourite jump and then went back to do it again (it is small, you’d probably not even see it but its a jump to me). Normally I whizz through looking at the rise and that is it. Walking back I saw some perfect ramps and berms.

Now, you may assume that, writing this, I blitzed the lot. No way! I never jump. I’ve slipped into a ground hugging safe riding mode.  If you don’t use it, you lose it. I’ve lost it.

These jumps are easy, small and, dare I say it, safe. The only problem is that I use my brain when riding and it’ll tell me to take care. I have the bikes (any will do but I’ll use the 140mm travel of the Mount Vision XM8 to give me the confidence), I also have the skill.  All I need is the nerve. I have been pedaling enthusiasm, inspiration and motivation for years. Unfortunately, I don’t sell nor buy in nerve – even at best dealer rate. I am going to have to make it myself. Perhaps Jimbo will help.

Wish me luck – it has to be done!

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

