Prepared and excited

I ran yesterday. Apart from the sheer pleasure of going over Cissbury in the morning I had a plan. If my legs are a little tired I’ll feel them and this will help contain my enthusiasm. Tonight is the first round of the Goodwood Gallops and I normally get over excited and think that I am both younger and fitter than I really am. The ideas is that I’ll hide in the bunch only working my way near to the front for the sprint. I did it last year on the first race, finishing well only to be rewarded with a DNF – last place! They must have missed my number. I’ll make sure that it is prominent this evening. Of course, the plan might backfire and I could struggle all the way round but I prefer to approach any thing like this with plenty PMA: Positive Mental Attitude.

I am testing a new saddle (we have a set of demo Selle Italias if anyone wants to try one). I couldn’t fit the carbon one so I have had to put up with the Ti SLR TT, it’s a staggering 10 grams heavier – good job Goodwood is flat. I’ve put my Ultremo Rs back on, my racing license has a new photo and I have some SIS Smart gels in my bag. All prepared and ready to go – can’t blame the kit! But as they say, it’s not about the bike….

On my run I met up with John (again), the guy that nearly smashed into me on Saturday. We had a laugh reliving the experience and, as I wrote, his mate was a novice. Lets hope that he isn’t too put off by the experience.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Cissbury Ring, Racing, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prepared and excited

  1. mullet says:

    dont worry jp porkys been riding and racing bikes all his life- hes only new to mtbing. regards john

Leave a Reply

