Time trialing?

I’ve had a week off. Normally a rest is forced upon me by work but this time I wanted to be in on Tuesday missing the race and was pretty laid back about not riding, working instead, until the weekend. The most important part of any training plan is the rest and recovery. I still did my weekly run but forgot that I couldn’t ride Sunday as I’d be at Broadbridge Heath to support the Worthing Excelsior Cycling Club Open 25. It was cold and windy so times were down except for Steve Denis who rode 25 windy miles in just over 52 minutes! Staggering. They call it the race of truth and these riders have to be admired but it is just not my cup of tea. Racing on or off road is much more my style.

My wife was in Portsmouth and we decided to meet up. This was an excellent plan as I could ride there. I thought that I was going to miss my Sunday ride (a sin in my book). I wanted to allow 2.5 hours and decided to up load the route onto my Garmin to save time. I spent so long doing this that I ended up with just over two hours to meet up at 3. No i-pod, just a bike and a deadline to do 42 miles. I didn’t ride at race pace just briskly and I really enjoyed it. That is odd as I have just written and have always said that I hate time trialing. So what was I doing other than time trialing? It was my first road ride after three races and I have got stronger and that felt good. The rest did me good. My time doesn’t look fast and I was sure I would have averaged over 20mph but it was very, very windy and I got lost twice in Havant. I got there at exactly 3pm as planned.

Kit: Clothing: Pearl Izumi Elite Ltd jersey and base layer with Pearl Izumi Elite In-R Cool bib shorts. Wearing this stuff I’ve never been cold, never got hot and felt dry the whole ride. That’s 4 rides with the same comfortable out come.

Bike, Wilier Cento Uno with Fulcrum Racing 1s but I used Conti Supersonic tubes. They are a gossamer 50grams each saving weight where it has the greatest benefit. Tyres are Ultremo Rs, best tyres that I have ever used. I’m currently testing an SLR Kit Carbonio Flow saddle 115grams and comfortable. We have a Selle Italia demo test set of saddles for you to try too.

Here is the first part of the ride

And here is the second part. I’ve got to sort out my use of my Garmin

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Racing, Road rides, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time trialing?

  1. Pingback: Mtb Forum | Mountain Bike Frames X | Mountain Bike Frames X

Leave a Reply

