It wasn’t so bad after all

It was still blowing a houllie when I got up and seemed cold. However, it wasn’t as cold as forecast so I only needed a jersey and base layer. I rode out to Lewes hugging the base of the South Downs. I was holding back as what usually happens at the turnaround the wind still seems to be in your face. But climbing out of Newhaven, for the first time in the ride, I couldn’t feel any wind. It was behind me!

The A259 goes up and down the cliffs but heading West it seems to be more down than up,  a real rollercoaster. I was still getting blown about but the further West I went the more the road started to head South West and so the wind was more and more behind me. From Brighton the speedo showed around 40kph the whole way back to Worthing. I must be getting fitter. Joy!

Kit: Wilier Cento Uno as usual but I have to mention the base layer: a Pearl Izumi Transfer Lite sleeveless tee. It only costs £25 and kept me warm all the way out into the wind and kept me cool and dry all the way back. Whatever the weather I’d never ride with out it.

Here’s the ride

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

