Windy again

It was difficult holding a straight line as the wind buffeted me as I pushed hard on the straight. And I hadn’t even started the race. Whatever the weather as you approach Chichester the wind picks up letting you know that its Tuesday evening and Goodwood is just around the corner. And I was driving the van.

It was going to be hard. My legs had recovered from Sunday’s ride (thank you ZipVit) but I had only had 5 hours sleep each night over the last three. My warm up consisted of rushing to sign on. As usual, on the first lap I had to try to be first. I was second! Way too soon to be sprinting. At my age it takes half the race to get fully warmed up. I would pay for this as the race unfolded.

I’m getting good at hiding in the pack but with the strength of the wind there is little rest. I got in the wrong place at the wrong time. I think that the idea is to be in the right place at the right time.  Penultimate lap I was at the back having a breather when the bunch split. I tried to rally the stragglers either leading from the front or shouting encouragement but despite a desperate effort the gap got steadily wider and wider. Do you give up or carry on? I tried to carry on…..

Another big mistake but I got another couple of points and had a tough work out. Sometimes it’s just miserable but I know that the next time I hit the trails I’ll enjoy the benefit of these sessions.

Sorry, no Garmin download as I couldn’t find it as I rushed around watching the clock tick ever faster as I tried to leave the shop. I got away at 6:15. The race started at 7!

Click here to read more cycling blogs .

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Racing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

