The joy of racing

There is nothing better than watching the pros fight it out in the Big race when my legs are aching from racing myself. I’ve had a couple of weeks off racing so it was great to be back again. It was raining – lovely! I hate the hanging around and shivering but once the race starts – awesome. Not cold, not hot, just right – the wonder of a base layer.

I can’t remember feeling so at one with my kit whether it was the bike, glasses, gloves… even my legs. The bike couldn’t have felt better. I wasn’t riding too bad but eventually the race split and I was in the wrong bit. There were six of us left to chase and we worked so well as a team with each rider doing just enough and the the next coming through. Perfection but looking good was not enough. We couldn’t close the gap.

Despite not doing very well I really enjoyed the ride, the conditions and the battle of mind over body.  I wasn’t proud to be the oldest but was chuffed with the effort that I put in. Its knowing that I pushed to the limit and above that makes me feel so contented now. I need to and will get stronger – give me a couple more races.

The kit was the usual stuff with the outstanding performers being my new glasses, I had fit the clear lenses to my Spiuk Torsion and could ride on the wheel of a rider with spray flying straight into my face and I had absolutely clear, perfect vision the whole race. Not a single drop to impede my vision. I must mention the base layer, its designed for super hot weather but it adds an extra layer and when jersey and it are soaked they provide perfect wind protection: nice and warm.

Here’s the ride, not very impressive! But who cares about me, what we do care about is that there are still 3 Brits in the top ten of Le Tour, Vive les Roast beef!

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

