Whyte 829 extreme session and Steyning Trail developments

It was an easy choice. I had spent the week running through every berm and jump in my head so there was no way that it’d be road riding and choosing the bike was simple. We have the Niner EMD as a demo, the incredible Scott Scale 29er Expert and the Whyte 829. I opted for the Whyte. I wanted the best trail bike that I could have. I was originally put off by the Whyte (I’d tested prototypes only) but did enjoy the first run with this production bike. Here’s my review.

It’s not since I was windsurfing that I have spent so much time visualising my moves and so I wanted to put my skills to the test and needed the best tool for the job. The thing with Whyte is that they have an undeniable reputation for producing great trail bikes. That reputation rubs off and so instills confidence even before you ride. I spent a lot of time setting the bike up and it worked a treat. I was amazed at what I got away with as the front wheel was so loaded up on all the steeps. I can’t over emphasise the importance of bike set up for rider and terrain. This time the bike had Continental X king 2.2 tyres. You don’t need such a knobby tyre on a 29er. It was a bit sketchy getting a 29er round tight turns built for a 26″ wheel but once past the those the extra confidence gained from the bigger wheels really helped me.

I rode all the good stuff around Steyning and rode it all again. I filmed it all and as soon as I’ve figured out how to add sound or at least take the grunts and other awkward noises off I’ll post them up. The good news to report is that some one has taken charge up there and is working on the trails. I’ll keep you posted. Look out for the trail notices. The bad news is that whilst I think that I am going fast; a quick look at Youtube  for Steyning Mountain biking made me realise how slow I am. Blink and I miss even my biggest jumps….. Nice movie Dom!

 

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in 29ers, Steyning mountain biking, Whyte 829 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whyte 829 extreme session and Steyning Trail developments

  1. Tom Coulson says:

    Hi, where is the Steyning Trail head?

    • Hi Tom, there is a triangle of woods between three bridle ways. The easiest way to describe it is to pick an easy to find land mark. Start at Mouse Lane and head straight up to the South Downs Way. Halfway up you will see a bridle way dropping in from the left, this is the lower side of the triangle, the path that I have mentioned is another. As it exits the woods at the top you’ll see another path dropping in from the left, this is the uppermost side of the triangle. All the trails drop off from the upper path. These are all built with the permission of the landowner. It might be small but that makes the climb up quick.

  2. tomcoul says:

    Cheers JP – I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

