First winter road miles

First winter's ride

First winter’s ride

I know that we all prefer the warm and dry days of Summer but one of the great things about this country are the seasons. We certainly had a Winter 12 months ago but really since then the year has been a bit samey, albeit great for cycling. However, Friday, I could finally don my winter boots and a winter jacket for a frosty ride. Bliss. A change is as good as a rest. Riding over the Bostal the view was classic Winter. I was on my Ridgeback Panorama weighing it at 41.07lbs with panniers. It may be heavy but it is just so comfortable. A joy to ride. Garments to note were Northwave Celsius boots and Endura Stealth jacket.

On Sunday I wanted to ride the road mainly to prevent the risk of damaging my shoulder anymore from my crash 2 weeks ago. You cannot imagine how awesome my Cento Uno feels after the Panorama. It weighs just under 16lbs and makes climbing a joy. The plan was for an easy 2 hours so I enjoyed my wine and a jovial late night as we’d be starting at a very civilised 8:30am. There’d be four of us so some comfortable drafting would be possible.

We more or less did a route that I used to ride back in the old days when the roads were a lot safer and I was a lot less experienced (I won’t ride the A29 or the A24 anymore unless I am in a group).

It was a relatively easy ride but we all argued about who was setting the pace as our average was 18.4mph, not really a leisurely! It was reasonably warm too after our few hours of Winter on Friday so I wore Northwave Fahrenheit boots but only needed my favourite jacket (Endura FS260 Jetstream), a long sleeve base layer and Thermolite tights. Nice to be on the road again.

Here’s the ride. Short and sweet but not to be ridden on your own.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Cycle clothing, Winter rides and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

