Its amazing what a bit of motivation can do for you

Snowy path from Hangelton

Snowy path from Hangelton

Last night I had planned to ride this not expecting the temperature to drop quite so much. However, I wasn’t to be beaten after fun I had on Sunday was so, at just after 7am, I headed off on the Devil’s Dyke loop. It was evil out with a brisk North Easterly cutting into my cheeks. I could see the snow on the Down’s but was surprised to find that the Hangleton railway path was still covered in it. I kept my 23mm road tyres in tracks left by mountain bikes. Over the Dyke and back through Poynings and Egburton I was in total fear of black ice. My bottle froze up and I had ice in the rim.

It may have been grim but at least I rode and I now know that I’ll now be able to enjoy the early Spring weather whilst others will still be whimping out waiting for the sun.

It was -5c when I left but I never felt that cold. I wore a Buff, two base layers, a Gore Tool jacket and an old Gore Windstopper gilet (from the Kona days), wind proof tights, two pairs of gloves (the outer glove was a cheapie pair of Thinsulate gloves that you see at every B&Q checkout). Naturally my feet were warm wrapped in Endura woolly socks inside my Northwave Fahrenheit boots. All topped of with a Kask Vertigo. When you next think that it is time to spend some money on your cycling, think clothing first bike kit second.

I rode my Wilier Cento Uno, and felt safe with Conti Four Season tyres providing the grip.

Watching Cav & Co riding through the desert with crowds numbering nearly 10 didn’t inspire me at all. Roll on the Classics, the Tour of Qatar might be good training but, boy, is it boring.

Here’s the ride, one of my slowest ever.

Click here to read more cycling blogs .

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Bad weather, Cycle clothing, Freezing rides, Road rides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

