Overdoing it and the Scott Foil

I have been riding ever harder despite telling all that rest is the most important part of any training program. I can’t resist a hard ride. The feeling of riding on the limit is like a drug  I give into every time that I get on the bike.  Last Sunday all that I wanted to do was to climb the diagonal path that mounts the northwest side of Chanctonbury. It is the hardest climb that I know of round here so I only try to climb it once a year.

Whilst the climb itself wasn’t that tough, last Sunday I had reached my limit and it finished me off. Follow me on the flat and you wouldn’t know that I have a problem but as soon as it goes up, I’m toast. I need a rest.

I got a heart rate monitor with my new Garmin Edge 510 to help me keep my efforts down. So all I did last week was an easy 40 mins ride in on Friday but failed to keep it below 130bpm. Today we did what was supposed to be a gentle 70 km. I was riding a Scott Foil which saved me as it came with a 12-30 cassette. It is supposed to have a 12-25.

A pair of Scott Foils

A pair of Scott Foils

There are two things about the Foil 20 that have surprised me. The first is that the ride is so comfortable. I am baffled by my comments last year stating that it was incredibly stiff. It is no stiffer than either my Cento Uno or the De Rosa Merak. It is a joy to ride. The second is that I think that I have found the perfect set up. I had thought that my Cento was as good as it gets but since using the compact 3T Ergosum handle bar on the Merak I have found the drop too much . The medium Foil has a compact bar and with the saddle back as far as it goes and using a

Scott Foil - perfect set up

Scott Foil – perfect set up

120mm stem the bike is the perfect fit. I am really tempted – but do I really want to swap Italian style for Swiss efficiency?

Here’s the ride.

The ride was a bit odd as I thought that my average speed was my actual speed so ended up working too hard despite intending to take it easy. Now that I have the Edge 510 and have learnt to customize the screen so I won’t make the same error, I have an Edge 200 for sale at £75 – well below  our cost.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Scott Foil, Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

