Mountain biking can be very social – but needs to be done more often

I used to ride fifty fifty road and mountain bike but, in part due to the weather, I have been almost exclusively riding on the road for the last year. One reason for this is that when you go for a road ride that is what you do. You , I, ride! So often mountain biking involves a lot of other stuff. There can be a lot less riding. You stop to get through a get, you stop to fix something (my headset yesterday), you get punctures, to wait for a mate, you admire the view, you have a chat…. the list goes on. On the road, mechanicals are rare and everything else including the waiting can be done whilst pedaling.

Yesterday, I wasn’t too lively after celebrating my youthful mother’s 80th  and, continuing the family theme, I was meeting my brother, brother in law and others. I headed straight for The Blue Run and first up met Kevin, nice to follow a competent rider on his NS Soda, back up I met a trail builder and looked on in amazement at the Black Run. I rode down again and then met my brothers group and took them down the Blue. It proved too much for some. I know how they felt walking sections as I had bottled out of rolling into the chalk pit – lost my nerve – not enough mountain biking!!! I left them and met Jimbo, Tom and Mike so again had a competent crew to follow down. Finally on the way back I met another bunch one of whom had our demo Genius 920. All in all a very social session and I hardly raised a sweat. I had a great time. Thanks for the company guys!

I used my Kinesis FF29, great bike, but without a quick release seat clamp no rear suspension I was really envious of the rider that I met with the Scott Genius 920. He had just bought our demo. All I could think about was “if I’d been on that I might have had a chance of keeping up with the locals”. More practice needed, more mountain biking.

Livetracker map 090613

Livetracker map 090613

Livetracker photo 090613Using a Garmin Edge 510 my wife was able to follow me but was really confused as to why I kept going round and round and stopping. That is why she zoomed in. These are screen grabs from her phone.

Here is the ride  – I can’t wait for Tuesday’s Thrash.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in 29ers, Kinesis FF29, Steyning mountain biking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

