First ride on the first day of a new year

Flooded fields Amberly

Flooded fields Amberley Brooks – very wet ride.

Riding today was a no brainer. It was the first day of a new year. It was the day that I had been looking forward to since before my hernia op. There was a window in the weather between 7 and 10 am according to the BBC. All these things meant that when the alarm went off at 6:30 am it was easy to get out of bed. When I headed out it was breezy, dryish and not very cold. I headed west which proved a mistake as when the wind picked up and rain came there was a bit of east in it for my return. I got slower and slower as the wind got stronger and stronger.

I have lost loads of fitness and strength in the last two months but I feel motivated and I know how to short cut my return to form. With that attitude I am not put off by the wet and will continue with this positive approach just as long as it continues to remain relatively warm and that I don’t feel the urge to venture off road.

I used my old Ridgeback Panorama which weighs approximately 19kgs/40lbs as the wet roads don’t seem so bad with a bike designed to cope with the crappy weather. My legs are really sore as they make the transition from ski mode to pedalling. Both these things are going to make it feel really good once I get back onto proper road bike. Can’t wait! Happy New Year!

Here’s the ride I was warm and happy the whole way round but got tired and cut the ride short riding down the A24 and missing out the Bostal which was the original plan.

 

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in Bad weather, Touring bikes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

