Scott Scale 910 helps me sort my fit.

Mist over Findon

Mist over Findon

I have finally sorted out my bike for next year. The medium Scott Scale fits like a glove, climbs like a dream and encourages risk taking on slippery, rooty single track. I had had a bike before with the same length top tube and that climbed well and was comfortable too but it had a head tube steeper than my Colnago Dream so descending was a time to slow down and no one wants to do that. We only rode for about three hours but that was enough to know whether I would feel cramped and have any aches as this bike was so much shorter than the other bikes that I have been riding.

It is supposed to be winter and in three weeks time the nights will start to get shorter and yet I rode with shorts (3/4s) and we were warm all the way. As usual round here it only takes a few days of dry and wind for the trails to improve. Now, if like me, you rode last Sunday and in the week your view of the trails today would be really positive. If you spent your time duvet hugging then you would not appreciate how nice it was to ride in mild and relatively good conditions this morning.

Scott Scale 910

Scott Scale 910 Red Bull colours gives you wings!

So how was the Scott Scale 910 as a bike? The frame is the usual HMF Scott carbon, the top tube is 600mm and the all important head angle 69.5⁰. The result is a bike that has been designed to win world cup races (or you might choose the Gorricks) but can be thrown down our slippery trails with ease. MBR said that Scott have successfully blurred the line between XC and trail with the Scale. Sounds like the perfect hard tail! One other thing the SDS of the rear triangle (Shock Damping System – oh how I hate this marketing blurb) really does dampen trail shock. It’s not full suspension but it is about as good as it gets for a hard tail.

The spec is full Shimano XT brakes and transmission (2 x 10 – 38/24 chainset). Of course you can spend more and get lighter but can you get better for the money? I think not. The fork is a trusted FOX 32 Float Factory CTD with handle bar remote. The remote clamp doubles up as a lock-on grip clamp. The only good thing about that is that the mechanics will have to put the clamp where it belongs. Changing grips is possible with a bit if ingenuity but who wants to bodge it when the bike is £2,599?

Wheels are Syncros XR2.0 (which means DT Swiss) so are light and a good match for the rest of the package. There is a 142 x 12mm rear axle but the drop out is intercahangeble  should you have a regular axled wheelset that you want to use. They feel light, accelerate fast and, being used to carbon, I did not notice any flex. Tyres for the day were perfect, trusty Schwalble Rocket Rons. I like these although many don’t.

Unusla sign

Unusual Sign on climb up from North Stoke

All in all a great bike and only 10.10kgs / 22.27lbs. The smaller size (for me) made the bike feel exciting and chuckable like a 27.5 and that is a real positive. If you want to do any racing then this Scale would set you up to never have to blame your equipment. If you just want a very light, fast bike to ride the trails around here then any of the Scott Scales will let you do that. I am hoping that it will be the bike to get me to Eastbourne an hour quicker than last year. I have ordered up the Scale 900 SL which uses the HMX carbon so weighs 960g for the frame but more important than that it is black and orange.

Here is the ride. I wanted to ride the Three Amigos trail in Houghton Forest but either could not remember where it started or could not see it for the fallen leaves. The bike is in Red Bull colours and I certainly felt that I had wings. I was literally flying up hill. Some days you just have it. I just wish I could plan when. The most fun I have had on a bike in ages but my legs are hurting now.

NO SHORTCUTS

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in 29ers, Good weather, Scott Scale 29ers, Whiteways, Winter rides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

