Whyte T-130 RS guest review

Whyte T-130 RS - Surrey Hills

Whyte T-130 RS – Surrey Hills

We lent Tania our demo Whyte T-130 RS as her Titus El Guapo is positively hanging. She usually rides the Surrey Hills, Leith, Pitch etc and isn’t afraid to get some good air. Watch out guys she’ll roast a lot of you so called Enduro Boys.

Let’s see how Whyte’s 130mm travel 27.5 stacked up against the 152mm Titus.

“So my current bike is on borrowed time, we’ve had some good times together but the time has come to explore a new replacement.  For those that know me at Quest Adventure, they reckoned I should take out the Whyte T-130RS for a spin, so today I took it to my favourite trails in the Surrey Hills to see how it performs.

“I’m 5’10” so the medium bike for me felt perfect. Initially the bike felt a little low at the front, but I’m guessing that will just be down to the fact I’m used to 160mm fork.  The ride started with a climb to the top of Holmbury Hill via the offroad route to the top of ‘Barry Knows Best’.  This bike climbs beautifully, I had doubts about riding with a one by eleven but people have been trying to convince me it’s the way forward and today may have just shown me the reason why. So climbing wise I cannot fault it, regardless of how steep it became, even Gasson’s Farm climb was well within its limits gearing wise.   The next trail

Tania Whyte T-130 airtime

Tania Whyte T-130 mid flight, only a small one!

put it through sweeping berms where this bike feels very solid, stable and extremely capable and where I think I realised the benefit of the 650b wheel size.  Having now established how reliable the bike felt, ‘Crackpipe’ was next on the list.  Basically the steeper the trails, with loose rocky switchbacks put in for good measure, were no problem whatsoever for the T130, it handled all of these with ease.   After taking it down the rocky descent of ‘I should Coco’ you realise how the shock and Pikes provide the bike with a very positive controlled ride, and that leaves you with a big grin on your face at the bottom.

“After warming up and getting used to the Whyte we headed over to Pitch for a few runs down ‘Proper Bo’ and the ‘T-Trails’ just to see how it compares on the little drops and jumps, again this bike behaves beautifully, solid and reliable, it certainly ticks all the boxes for an awesome trail bike, if any of you out there are looking for a new bike to try, I can definitely recommend heading over to Quest Adventure and booking this bike out for a demo, a sure fire way to put a massive grin on your face, happy riding.”

I think that she liked it. We have a demo Whyte T-130 SX in extra small too if you are not as tall as Tania. In fact I think that more women have used our T-130 demos than men so far!

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in 27.5ers, 650B, Singletrack, Whyte T-130, Winter rides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

