South Downs Way – A wake up call

This morning I headed off on the train to get to know the first part of the South Downs Way. I was full of optimism. That didn’t last! As the ride was going to be a lot shorter than the whole thing I thought I would ride is as fast as I could. I may have started well but faded really badly. I actually finished the ride is a far worse state the when I have ridden the whole thing. I even got my nutrition wrong! Over confident??

Wake up call!

I am hoping that I am still tired from my mountain walking and that my PT session on Wednesday evening was just too hard. If those excuses are wrong then I have a real problem looming on the 15th July.

As for my 30 minute buffer I’ll never get that as gaining that time was easy when riding in a group at an average of 17 kph. At a 19 kph average I am pretty close to maximum already so I only had about 10 minutes at QECP, 5 minutes at A285 and nothing spare at Amberley Mount. I even walked the main part of Amberley Mount. I have never done that before.

I don’t know what sort of visualising I can do to get over such poor form. Who believes in crossing fingers?

Here’s the ride.

About questadventure

Old git cyclist, road and mountain bike rider and racer, windsurfer, skier, snowboarder, husband, father, bike shop owner, fitness fanatic, cook, linguist.
This entry was posted in South Downs Way and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

